New book and direction?

I’ve just purchased a copy of From Dawn to Decadence, Barzun’s epic survey of Western cultural history from the Renaissance to the twilight days of the 20th century.  I have yet to read more than a few pages, but seeing a book like this that is obviously hugely important and interesting that does not receive as much attention as it deserves (I found it via a friend’s recommendation) makes me think: would this blog stand to profit if I spent a some more time featuring books that I have come across in the course of my academic studies or intellectual wanderings?

I think one of the things that is most difficult about modern life is that there is such a milieu of interesting knowledge available at any local bookstore.  It’s impossible to try and gain a foothold in the currency of human knowledge currently in circulation.  I don’t think it’s possible to remedy this problem, but certainly people out there might be interested in a few choice insights into books that are significant in their reach and the new insights they bring to thought.  Wouldn’t we all stand to profit if a few friends and I spent some time featuring books like that from our various regions of study for the readers to check out?  If you read this site with any regularity I’d like to know what you think of my nascent plan.

2 responses to “New book and direction?

  1. Pingback: Weekend reading « A NEW NADIR

  2. Pingback: The current reads « A NEW NADIR

Leave a Reply

