Chinese Sex Symbols. Don’t worry Jingoists, they’ve still got a long way to go.

One of the best parts of my trip to China two years ago was how enamored Chinese girls seemed to be with me.  I’m not going to hide my feelings on the matter; Walking down the street, I felt like some sort of model; everyone was gawking at me, and my tutor would openly compliment me about my good looks.  While I’m sure you would all love for me to regale you further on my need to travel to a country 3,000 miles away to get this sort of attention, I’m actually writing this on account of the fact that some guy who guarded the olympic torch (not quite a looker, in my uneducated opinion) has now become something of a James Dean in China.  He’s received hundreds of marriage requests.

They may win the most medals in this year’s olympics, but they have a long way to go before they challenge us careless American men for our worldwide sex appeal.  At least, that’s what we’ll continue to rationalize as we steadily lose our rationale for believing that America is the greatest nation on earth.

2 responses to “Chinese Sex Symbols. Don’t worry Jingoists, they’ve still got a long way to go.

  1. way to go!!!!
    wait so how is the guy getting these marriges requests?
    im not sure i follow as much

  2. Well, the Times is talking it up like he’s directly receiving them, but I think for the most part they are shouts in the dark by all these anonymous internet commentators. I think his identity is unknown, but if it were known, who knows? Maybe he would be getting married by one of these girls…

Leave a Reply

